Sunday Reflection

11 02 2008

The Lord blessed me to preach at a great church in NorthWest DC, Southern Baptist Church Praise & Worship Center. It was a fun situation for me because it is a very traditional church. I tend to struggle when I’m visiting a traditional church and they do things that (in my youth) I feel are stagnant. They had devotion at the beginning of service, responsive readings, announcements for about 25 minutes, and pastoral comments for another 15. The A.D.D. in me struggles with 2 ½ hour church services.

Once I got over myself, the Lord really blessed. I preached a message called “Real Rhetorical Questions” from Galatians 1:10. In that one verse, Paul asked rhetorical questions to the church at Galatia. In order for them to be rhetorical questions to them, they first had to be real questions to him. We also need to ask ourselves some real questions in order to determine our commitment to Christ.

After church LaVera and I got to hang out with one of our favorite couples to hang out with, Jeremy and Dawn Berkeley. We went to Outback Steakhouse and chilled with them and their two boys Nehemiah and David. Touch your neighbor and say… BLOOMING ONION!!!

After that, had to hustle home and change for evening service at FBCG (which was off the chain). Overall, it was a great day. I praise God for allowing me to do what I do for a living. What a privilege to be an instrument in the Master’s hand!